Chinese brands triumph in Southeast Asia native smart phone transition survival

Issuing time:2017-12-01 00:00

Market research firm Gartner November 30 released the third quarter of 2017 global smart phone market data show that Chinese mobile phone vendors Huawei, OPPO, millet has been in front of Samsung, Apple, together occupy the top five positions. Among them, millet handset shipments grew nearly 80%, the market share increased from 4% last year to 7%, the data is quite dazzling.


In the Southeast Asian market, Chinese handset manufacturers who have taken the sea also handed over a beautiful "report card."


According to IDC data, OPPO accounted for the second place in sales in 2016 with 13.2% market share, with shipments up 137.5% YoY. Asustek and Huawei each took third and fourth respectively, with 5.9% and 5.1% respectively. According to the latest statistics provided by StrategyAnalytics to 21st Century Business Herald, OPPO is the second largest market in Southeast Asia with 17.2% market share in the third quarter of 2017, followed by 4.6% Another Chinese mobile phone brand Vivo.


The domestic mobile phone market is approaching saturation and the sea has become a trend


The aforementioned Gartner report, in addition to dazzling data such as millet brands, it mentioned the shrinking of China's smart phone market. The report pointed out that it is thanks to the strong growth in Asia Pacific emerging markets and North American markets, the global smart phone shipments in the third quarter to be able to achieve a 3% year-on-year growth in the downturn in the Chinese market.


Comparing the third quarter figures for 2016 and 2017, smart phone sales in Greater China dropped from 32.3% to 27.9% in the global market, while the share of emerging markets in Asia Pacific rose from 19.1% to 21.3%. The downturn in China's smart phone market and the potential of the mobile phone market in the emerging markets of the Asia-Pacific were shown separately.


In fact, the trend of China's mobile phone market has become saturated as early as two years ago has already appeared. According to a 2015 IDC report, China's smartphone shipments in the first quarter of the year dropped by 4.3% year-on-year and 8% month-on-month. At that time, TomKang, director of research at Counterpoint, a market research firm, said that the market penetration of smartphones in China has been as high as 90%, having changed from a new machine market to a replacement machine market.

中国品牌高歌猛进 东南亚本土智能手机转型求存
发表时间:2017-12-01 00:00

市场研究公司Gartner11月30日公布的2017年第三季度全球智能手机市场数据显示,中国手机厂商华为、OPPO、小米已紧随身前的三星、苹果,一同占据了前五的位置。其中,小米手机出货量同比增长近80%,市场占有率由去年的4%增至7%,数据颇为亮眼。


  而在东南亚市场,出海的中国手机厂商同样交出了一份漂亮的“成绩单”。


  据IDC数据显示,2016年OPPO以13.2%的市场份额占据了当地销量第二的位置,出货量同比增长达137.5%。华硕和华为则分别以5.9%和5.1%的份额紧随其后占据三、四位。StrategyAnalytics向21世纪经济报道记者提供的最新数据则显示,在2017年第三季度,OPPO再次以17.2%的市场占有率在东南亚市场位列第二,紧随其后的则是份额为4.6%的另一中国手机品牌Vivo。


  国内手机市场趋近饱和,出海已成趋势


  前述Gartner报告中,除小米等品牌的亮眼数据之外,其提及了中国智能手机市场的萎缩。报告指出,正是得益于亚太新兴市场及北美市场的强势增长,全球智能手机第三季度的出货量才得以在中国市场低迷的情况下实现了3%的同比增长。


  对比2016和2017年的第三季度数据,大中华区智能手机销量占全球市场比重由32.3%降至了27.9%,而亚太新兴市场占比则由19.1%升至21.3%。中国智能手机市场的低迷和亚太新兴市场手机市场的潜力分别显现出来。


  而实际上,中国手机市场已趋于饱和的趋势早在两年前就已经有所显现。国际数据公司(IDC)2015年的报告显示,当年第一季度,中国智能手机出货量曾同比下降4.3%,环比下降8%。当时,市场调研机构Counterpoint研究主管TomKang曾表示,中国智能手机的市场渗透率已经高达90%,已从新机市场变为了换机市场。